“Tales of Xillia”: Kanbalar (Prague, Czech Republic~wintertime)

Kanbalar

Unfortunately, Prague doesn’t have any of those cool overhead bridges (as far as I know), but I’d say the general layout is pretty similar, which would be especially apparent if the pictures had the same lighting/angle.

BTPrague13_386312o

I would say one of the most famous capital cities is a great comparison already for the great kingdom of Kanbalar, housing the king of one of the two large nations in the game. If Prague were in the mountains instead of by the water, it would be perfecto.

It was rather hard finding good pictures of the kingdom, so I’ll do my best…

soluce-tales-of-xilia-image-33-006

PragueJanuarysnow_011813_-294

With its snow-capped spires, cobblestone streets, and the romantic hue of its gas-lit street lamps, Prague is right out of a fairytale. - European Cities to Visit During the Winter

(Hopefully, this one isn’t blurry…)

And just like Kanbalar, the place even has its own castle:

prague-castle-st-vitus-cathedral-prague-czech-republic+1152_12923027868-tpfil02aw-4961

Unlike Kanbalar, however, it isn’t located up in the mountains. The interior is equally gorgeous:

Sorry, let me just geek out for a moment…

Vrtbovska-Garden(pp_w948_h632)

DSC8559_60_61_62_63_tonemappedcrop1A

Alright, we’ll finish off with what I assume to be a courtyard, which is very Kanbalar, in my opinion!

praguecastle19-1

As a bonus, here is Prague when it’s not snowing!

prague-day-trip-from-vienna-in-vienna-137753

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Keroberus R.
    Jul 12, 2015 @ 02:40:59

    I have to say Prague is a beautiful city! Just by looking at your pictures it makes me want to jump on a plane to see it for myself.

    But Kanbalar has a distinctly Asian flavor to it. I don’t know if it’s because of the soundtrack for the city, “A Lord’s City Towering in the Mountains,” that Sakuraba wrote, but the buildings in the city are dark wood and only partially stone. This reminds me a lot of Tibet and the old ghettos of Hong Kong. The Asian flutes and string instruments also give it that feeling of the ancient East. If you look inside Castle Gaius, it resembles the emperor’s halls in the Forbidden City in Beijing.

    Like

    Reply

    • Julia
      Dec 30, 2015 @ 16:44:08

      Hello, sorry this took me so long! I’m trying to revive this blog soon…
      and you’re definitely right. I was looking at the big picture instead of focusing on important details and maybe wouldn’t have decided on Prague so soon now.
      Interestingly, I’ve noticed that many JRPG cities are a cross between East Asian and West European influence, which may be why I think they’re cooler than real cities haha
      Anyways, thank you so much for your comment and for reading–and once again, I’m sorry this is so late!

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

