“Doctor Who”: Gallifrey~(La Sagrada Familia in Barcelona, Spain)

Can I just say how perfectly this turned out? Solely because of this:

tumblr_n2rdppbR2E1s9msd7o7_r1_250

and

tumblr_lk0rda8YDA1qb84lwo1_500

PURE COINCIDENCE! Je promets~

I stumbled upon this place accidentally (as I tend to do) and immediately thought of Doctor Who!

Before I go into detail, I’ll show you the exterior of both places:

Gallifrey:

Gallifrey5

La Sagrada Familia:

Sagfampassion

(http://www.sagradafamilia.cat/)

Replace the blue sky with orange, add a dome, etc. and I think the two looks rather similar! The Sagrada Familia is an unfinished church whose construction started in 1882 by Antoni Gaudí. Unfortunately, he could never finish due to his untimely death in 1926…

Luckily for the church, nine other architects resumed his work and it’s scheduled to finish in 2026!

It was actually the interior that made me think of Doctor Who… It sort of reminded me of the Tardis, actually.

46umj9p.jpg(http://oddstuffmagazine.com/picdump-december-01-2014.html)

I really hope the quality comes out right…

more:

ceiling

(ceiling found on wikimedia)

1024px-Sagrada_familia_Barcelona_2

Ah, there are so many more lovely pictures to be found, but I shall leave that up to your googling prowess, dear readers~

See you next time!

Leave a Reply

