(More Books!) “Persona 3” and “Midnighters” Trilogy by Scott Westerfeld

As the title says, I’ll be comparing these books.
So, the plot of “Midnighters” is that a bunch of teenagers gain powers and fight monsters called “shadows” in a secret hour sandwiched between midnight and 12:01 (if I’m correct) and though there is a lot of danger, they secretly like this hour all to themselves and bond together as friends (for the most part).

The plot of Persona 3 is that a bunch of teenagers gain powers and fight monsters called “shadows” in a secret hour sandwiched between midnight and 12:01 and though there is a lot of danger, they secretly like this hour all to themselves and bond together as friends (much more successfully than in “Midnighters”).

There’s a lot of forum debate about the similarity, though alas “Midnighters” came out first. It’s a cool concept–it’s like how two people around the same year (give or take a couple) invented the telephone and they didn’t even know each other.

Anyway, the similarities end there! If you’re interested, I would give the book a try, but I was a little disappointed. Scott Westerfeld is one of my favorite authors, but I couldn’t really connect to more than a couple characters.
The main character was meh alright (as most protagonists are in YA especially, I’ve noticed). I liked her boyfriend and I liked Dess, the math genius who reminded me of Mitsuru. I liked the guy (Rex?) you see in the first chapter…but that’s about it.
I couldn’t find myself hooked to the pages the majority of the time, but it definitely had some good points. I skimmed most of the second book before dropping the trilogy (sorry, Westerfeld-san!)

Anyway, I’m just here to report book comparisons! XD (As we all want some J-fiction choices as we stroll through the bookstore lol)
Ciao~

Leave a Reply

